top of page

NEWBORN MUST HAVE'S


Okay, we're ALMOST THERE. It's that time again where I need to prepare myself for labour and delivery again, as well as ensure I have all the proper newborn items I'll be needing. It's nice the second time around because you know what you actually need and what is just a luxury or even what's a waste of money. However, there are some must have's that, in my opinion, are essential when bringing home a newborn baby. These are all items that will make your life a lot easier and alleviate some of that mommy anxiety that comes with just having given birth and caring for a tiny little human.

1. Swaddle blankets - THESE ARE A MUST. When we brought our daughter home from the hospital we are brand new parents without a clue on how to sooth a crying infant. Swaddle blankets became our best friend! Addison was a terrible sleeper from the start, so swaddling her was the only way to get her to sooth. To this day, she still sleeps in a sleep sack.

2. Nursing pillow - Some people say that don't necessarily like using nursing pillows, but in my personal opinion, this was essential! It's perfect to keep beside your bed at night so you can grab it quickly when your baby wakes up to feed. It will save your neck/back from a lot of pain by using this when nursing. I found that Addison was much more comfortable if I used the pillow, as well.

3. Nursing Cover - I found that having a nursing cover for your diaper bag was incredibly helpful. You're not always going to be at home when your baby suddenly is demanding to be fed. You're probably going to have a lot of visitors as well over to your home who want to see the new baby. A nursing cover is perfect so you can just breastfeed where you are in the moment.

4. Car seat cover - This is a new essential for me this time around and that's because our baby boy will be born in the winter, unlike our daughter who was born in September. I've been told that having a car seat cover to block the cold and wind from your newborn is extremely helpful. The cover goes over the entire car seat and can remain on when you are out and about. What I love about the cover I have is that it also turns into a nursing cover, grocery cart cover and an infinity scarf! how cool is that!?

5. Baby carrier - I found with my daughter that baby carrying was extremely helpful. Our daughter was a very fussy newborn and would only sooth by being held ... ALL DAY/NIGHT LONG. So in order for me to get anything done I had to use a baby wrap/carrier and have her attached to me while I did my chores/etc. There is a lot of research that shows baby carrying is actually very beneficial for both mom/dad and baby. I was told by the doctors that for the first few months, your newborn still thinks they are inside of your womb. This is why they love that skin to skin contact and being held close to your body. I highly recommend purchasing a baby wrap carrier. The wraps are the most versatile and easy to use in my opinion, especially for newborns. Many wraps can hold up to 30 pounds. This means, as your baby grows, the wrap adjusts and can be worn in a variety of different ways to support the baby. Not to mention, it supports your back while carrying your baby.

All of the products shown and discussed can be purchased at KidsNSuch. This is an amazing brand that delivers quality and affordable prices for all of your newborn/baby needs.

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page