top of page

Beauty for YOU: Makeup tips for a natural & affordable everyday look (Mom hacks)


If you're anything like me, you need a makeup routine that's fast, easy and affordable. As a stay at home mom I don't need to glam up each and every day to go outside of my house to work; however, it makes me feel more confident, more productive and put together when I have my makeup done. Now, with two under two this can be tricky. Not only do I have an minimal time to spare, I also have a tight budget. Here are some of my tips for achieving an everyday simple makeup look that's simple, fast and affordable for the everyday woman/mama.

1. Set a time that works for you

It's critical for me to set a specific time where I know things aren't super chaotic in my house to do my makeup. For me, this is the morning time. Normally, my son is up before my daughter so around 8:00am when he goes down for a little nap, I will go upstairs and utilize the 10-15 minutes I have free before getting my daughter up from bed. When you set a specific time it makes it easier to follow this routine each day. Yes, I know with kids you may not always get to stick to this specific routine. Things change. Kids wake up at different times, diapers need changing, bottles need heating. But, if you can stick to a specific time it makes things a lot easier.

2. Use a pallet

I find that minimizing the number of beauty products I need to use makes things easier. I love to use pallets that have everything you need for a full face of makeup. Woosh Beauty has come out with their Fold Out Face Pallet that has everything you need to accomplish a beautiful full face of makeup. It's practical, compact and comes in different shades for your particular skin tone. The fold out face pallet has eye shadows, concealers, bronzers, blush, foundation and highlighters. The pallet also comes with a large mirror attached so you can do your full face on the go. I absolutely love the simple, neutral everyday look I was able to create with this pallet. It's perfect for my everyday makeup look I tend to go to. You can also play around and create a more glam look using this pallet if you'd like to. Purchasing a pallet is also a more affordable approach to makeup. Instead of buying multiple different items, you can purchase one pallet for a lower cost.

3. Keep all of your everyday/go to makeup in one spot

I find that I'm always organizing my makeup because it's always all over the place. I will have my go to's mixed in with a bunch of other makeup, lip sticks scattered amongst 3 or 4 purses and so on. I find it helpful to organize my everyday go to products and keep them in a specific bin that's easy to grab. I also throw in my makeup brushes I tend to use daily as well. This way you're not running around the house trying to find what you need and waste the little time you have to complete your makeup.

4. Always use a highlight

I stand by this. Always, always always use a highlight. I know most people think highlight is for more of a glam look, but trust me, it's not! If you want to brighten your face and have a more natural glow, apply highlight! You don't necessarily need a lot of product, but a little bit will help to brighten your face, and make your tired mama look erase instantly! (well, a bit of coffee may help too!) Even on days, when I don't use foundation, i'll use a bit of concealer from my fold out face pallet as well as some highlight! It works wonders, ladies!

5. Less is more

Always stick with the rule that less is more. When you're going for a natural, glow from within look for everyday, less product is critical. You don't want to go heavy on the foundation, blush or bronzer. Bronzer is key for warming up the face but always use a light hand. This is true for blush as well. You want to create the sense that you have some color in your cheeks and look healthy and glowy. You don't want to look like a clown. Foundation isn't always necessary to create a simple everyday full face. Sometimes i'll skip foundation altogether and go with concealer and bronzer instead.

To find out more info on the Woosh Beauty Fold out face pallet,

click the link provided: Woosh Beauty


TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page