top of page

Pregnancy tips: 3rd trimester |Staying Comfortable


THIRD TRIMESTER! The final stage of pregnancy. This trimester is exciting and full of anticipation as you eagerly await the arrival of your little one; however, let's be honest, this trimester can be brutal. No, i'm not exaggerating. It can literally be brutal. Trying to get comfortable, then staying comfortable once you achieve said comfort... almost impossible! I have by no means mastered getting comfortable in the final trimester of pregnancy, but I'd like to think that I have a few tips that may work well for any mama out there that is experiencing any discomfort. These are great things to keep in mind if you're not currently pregnant, but plan to have children in the future.

|STAYING COMFORTABLE|

1) Use a body pillow to sleep - This is probably the most important tip I could give you. A good night's sleep will go such a long away. I used a massive body pillow (one that takes up half our bed... so my husband who is 6'4 gets legit no room to sleep. Sorry Jason!) for my first pregnancy and it helped a lot. Here I am again, second time around, clinging to that same pillow. I'm still up a lot in the night to pee and try and roll over to get comfy, but this pillow helps with the amount of times I am up. I find that I am much more comfortable and well rested when using one. You can find these pretty much at any department store - target, Walmart, etc.

2) Drink lots of water - This may seem like an odd tip, but hear me out. The third trimester can have a lot of not so fun things like constipation and pregnancy hemorrhoids. Yes, that's a lot to share with you, but it's the truth. The more water you drink, the more likely you are to stay regular. This is 100% something you want in order to remain comfortable.

3) Wear bras that you feel most comfortable in - So many people have told me that I shouldn't be wearing bralettes or sports bra's during pregnancy, especially in the third trimester. I've been told that you need to wear something with more support. Let me be real with you - I don't care. I have been living in bralettes my entire pregnancy and that's because it is what's most comfortable for me. You do whatever makes you feel most comfortable. For me personally, that's bralettes or a sports bra. For you, it may be something else. Just go with what works best.

4) Take warm baths- This may not be as simple if you are currently a pregnant mama who has kids already. I am currently almost 34 weeks pregnant and have a 15 month old, so I don't get a lot of free time. However, I encourage those mama's out there in the same position as me, lean on your husband/boyfriend, friends etc. Whoever is around and willing to offer help, take it. I know it can be hard - mom guilt is real. I always feel guilty after my husband gets home from a long work day to ask him to watch Addison so I can go take a bath. I feel like I'm losing out on time with him, with Addison and should be doing something other than relaxing. Don't let that guilt feeling win. Take care of yourself. Baths are so nice to help ease any aching muscles, cramps, or discomfort that comes with the third trimester. Be sure to keep the temperature warm and not hot. There are studies that show hot baths in the last trimester can induce labor.

5) Wear comfortable clothing- I have teamed up with an incredible clothing company called Preggo Leggings.

This company has by far the best maternity and pregnancy legings I have tried so far. Its essential for your last trimester, especially, to wear clothing that you feel comfortable in, with a lot of room to move and stretch. I typically love wearing jeans, and have for the majority of my pregnancy; however, there's isn't enough wiggle room in denim. My growing belly needs room in order for me to experience comfort. Preggo leggings has a wide variety of different styles of leggings and colors. The ones that were sent to me were the maternity motto leggings in green. The exact name on the site is "Green with envy moto". One of the best thing's about these leggins, besides how stylish and trendy they are, is the fact that they look like denim! These particular leggings don't have the typical look of your everyday basic legging, they appear as though they are denim but have the stretch and room you need while you grow your baby. I have been living in these leggings for a week straight. I am most definitely going to be wearing these leggings after I give birth as well.

If you want to shop these stylish comfortable leggings be sure to check out preggo leggings website. Tip: the leggings fit pretty accurate to your pre-pregnancy size. Be sure to order your typical size - they have a lot of stretch in them.


TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page