top of page

All about breastfeeding | You Lingerie


We're going to be talking about breastfeeding?! What?! Isn't that something that's done in private and NOT discussed? We all have our own feelings towards breastfeeding. We even have ideas in our heads of what you might be expecting it to be like, when the reality is very different. I want to discuss this topic today because I am currently almost 33 weeks pregnant with my second baby and I have learned a lot about breastfeeding, since I nursed my first child. One of the reasons it's good to have discussions about this topic is due to the fact that so many mom's to be, women who are trying to conceive and even those currently nursing, may have ideas about it that just aren't true. Many women have been told so many negative things or have built up this idea of what nursing will be like, but reality will kick in and the experience may be very different. It's also important to talk about it because there is no room for mom guilt or shaming of women who breastfeed/or don't breastfeed here. Every woman is different and needs to listen to their bodies and the needs of their child over what other people expect from them/think of them. Enough said. Now, let's get into some of the important things to know about nursing.

1) Contractions. Did you know that nursing your baby, within the first few weeks will actually cause contractions? This is your uterus contracting back down to its normal size. I never knew this. I remember bringing my daughter home, for the first few weeks, I had crazy painful contractions every time I would feed her.

2) Colostrum. Don't expect to be producing loads of breast milk as soon as you give birth. For the first week or so you will be producing what is known as colostrum. This is more thick in consistently and bears more of a yellowish color. Colostrum is filled with nutrients that are essential for your newborn. Your milk supply will come in shortly after this.

3) There is NO shame with nursing in public. I felt so awkward at first about nursing my daughter whenever we were out in public. It was as though all eyes were on me, as I stood naked. That's how it felt at least. And people made it feel that way too. I got stares and odd looks, even when I used a nursing cover. What I've learned is, there's nothing more natural than feeding your child. This is what our bodies as women were created to do. My child needs to eat, so it's simple. I feed them. Don't let those around you feel like you need to stop nursing because you're not in private. Obviously, do what you are most comfortable with. However, don't make those decisions based on other people's opinions.

4) Buy Disposable nursing pads. This is KEY! The nursing pads that you have to wash are time consuming, not as comfortable and make such a mess. I would suggest using disposable, stick on nursing pads that you throw away after each use. You can purchase these from most drug stores or even Walmart. It's extremely inexpensive as well.

5) Breastfeeding can be lonely. This was my experience. Other women out there may have a very different experience; however, for myself, I found that nursing, especially during the night time, was very lonely. When you are bottle feeding you have the option of having your husband/significant other help you by getting up in the night. Nursing is a whole different ball game. You are the provider of milk. It's your body that is literally being drained and demanded upon from your little one. I found being up at all hours of the night awake, nursing, felt like a very lonely experience. Did anyone else feel this way? Maybe it was just me.

6) Be sure to get a good NURSING BRA. When I had my daughter I only owned one nursing bra. The reason for this was simple - they're expensive! They can be as expensive as $100+. In addition, the majority of nursing bras, and I mean GOOD QUALITY, Comfortable nursing bras, are not cute. They aren't flattering or make you feel good. Ladies, am I not correct in saying a good bra can make you feel 100x better? This is important, especially after giving birth. You have all this extra weight you need to lose. You're experiencing aches and pains and don't feel like yourself. The right nursing bra can make you feel pretty, sexy and feminine. I have teamed up with a company called You-Lingerie. They sell nursing bras and underwear for matching sets. You-Lingere kindly gifted me with a nursing bra and bottoms set that I absolutely adore! Not only are these products extremely comfortable, they are also affordable! I found that their products are more fun and flirty than most nursing bras but they are practical for everyday nursing. The bra that was sent to me has the easy to use snap so you can pull down the front of the bra to gain easy access while nursing. The adorable details on the bras and panties are fun and in my opinion, add so much to the overall appearance of the lingerie.

This particular nursing bra/underwear set is called "Nova Maternity and Nursing Bra" on the You-Lingerie website. I chose a size small because the sizing is very true to your regular size. However, refer to the sizing chart on the website for assistance. You will absolutely adore these sexy nursing bras. See below for the links to both the website and all social media platforms.

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page